Nominations Open for Summit Artspace’s 2024 Arts Alive Awards

Individuals and organizations who were recipients of the fifteen 2023 Arts Alive Awards gathered for a celebratory group photo.

Since 2002, the Arts Alive Awards, presented by Summit Artspace, have recognized outstanding artists, educators, administrators, and patrons who strengthen the arts and culture sector in Summit and surrounding counties. The Arts Alive Awards honor recipients in the following categories: Emerging Artist; Outstanding Artists in Theatre, Dance, Music, Literary, and Visual Arts; Arts Educator; Collaborative Project; IDEA Leader; Rising Arts Leader; and Arts Patron. The public is invited to nominate candidates for these awards, and recipients are selected by a committee of community members, artists, arts professionals, and previous Arts Alive Award honorees. In addition to these categories, Summit Artspace selects recipients for the following awards: Summit Artspace Champion, Arts Alive Award, and Lifetime Achievement.

Nominations for the 2024 Arts Alive Awards are open now and close on February 5. Visit to nominate a candidate who you believe helps champion the arts and culture sector in Summit and surrounding counties.

Awards are presented at Summit Artspace’s annual benefit event, where guests enjoy live music, galleries, artist studios, and more. The Arts Alive Awards event will take place on May 14. Tickets will go on sale March 31 on Summit Artspace’s website.

For complete profiles on 2023 recipients, visit

The Arts Alive Awards are generously supported by FirstEnergy Corp., the County of Summit, Energy Harbor, Robert J. – Events & Catering, Bober Markey Fedorovich (BMF), 91.3 The Summit FM, Brio Performance Solutions, Jim and Leslie Pickard, Steel & Company Law Firm, Young & Associates, Meaden & Moore, Roetzel & Andress, and Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs, LLC.

140 East Market Street
Akron, Ohio 44308

2023 award recipients include:

  • David Shimotakahara (Arts Alive Award)
  • Eva Kwong (Lifetime Achievement)
  • Peg’s Foundation (Summit Artspace Champion)
  • Antoine Pastor (Arts Educator)
  • Liz Maugans (Arts Patron)
  • River in the City and Engage Akron Window Art Project (Collaborative Project)
  • Angel Newhem Valenzuela (Emerging Artist)
  • Mia Klinger (IDEA Leader)
  • Christina Lindhout (Outstanding Artist in Dance)
  • Neema Bal (Outstanding Artist in Theatre)
  • Angie Haze (Outstanding Artist in Music)
  • Matt Miller (Outstanding Visual Artist)
  • Jason Blakely (Outstanding Literary Artist)
  • Jenn Kidd (Rising Arts Leader)